Black!

on

Black! is a skin color that has been crafted from a heritage infused with genes from the cradle of the life, the Motherland. 

When I landed on earth, it was on a small volcanic rock known as land of wood and water. There I was forged from the heritage of that land. Birthed from the loins of the decendants of enslaved Africans, dragged from their homeland by British looters and further sullied by Scottish rapists. Birth brought forth by the descendant of enslaved Indians forced into indentured servitude and also ripped from their homeland by the British.
This union of enslaved descents made yet a newer hybrid out of many one Jamaican. Skin the color of coffee with a hint of condensed milk, wiry yet softly coiled springy hair the color of that same coffee but black.

All through my life on that small volcanic rock I am labeled Jamaican. 
I land on the US rock and customs labels me Jamaican.I walk on US streets and I am labeled light skinned Black! ‘cause I got that “good hair”. 
I work on a project where I am the only Jamaican among a sea of white faces and I am literally called “token Black! girl”. 

That’s right I’m Jamaican and I’m Black!

What do you see first? My black gold and green blended soul or my mocha skin? Do you call it as you see it? 
So how the rass is Kamala Harris not Black!? MYBBCWDF!
Translation: Move Yuh BomboBloodclaat Wid Dat Fuckery
OR as you African Americans would say GTFOH!

Filmmaking T01

Filmmaking isn’t rocket science. It’s not brain surgery. Honestly, as far as I know, over the past 2 decades I haven’t used the Advanced Math I excelled at in High School. Everything you want to know about filmmaking is at your fingertips. Google it. I’m not Spielberg (as a client not so graciously told me…

Wednesday May 06, 2020

At the beginning of the shutdown, I began working with a team of women online to make a documentary about pandemic point of views to keep myself working and focussed. I’ve also been crafting a personal docu-series featuring family and friends as I realized there was a lack of stories from people of color. As…

Latest Posts

Compliment Crippled

Not sure how, when or why it happened, but I CANNOT accept compliments. they make me feel itchy in my skin – like it doesn’t quite fit I suppose. It might be my Jamaican upbringing, it might be because I’m a woman, it might be fear of being good. Since I left Jamaica 5 years…

T2 watches TV

3 hours later I’m TV satiated, hot chocolate is but stains in the mug and the guilt has settled in. No not about the hot chocolate, though I’ll prolly come back to that tomorrow. It’s guilt about falling in love with the series.

T2s Tattoo Testimony

How’s that for alliteration? As a teenager I was fascinated by tattoos. Artwork on your body? Count me in. But I wasn’t in a motorcycle gang or a lesbian so maybe not. There’s also the fact that I lived in Jamaica and belong to a very traditional though unconventional family. (but that’s another story for…

Loading…

Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.

One Comment Add yours

  1. C it deh! Talk di tings dem!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment